Adinkra Quilt

April 22, 2012

I have looked forward to the letter Q for this A to Z  Challenge from the begining because I knew I would do QUILT!!  Now I am not a quilter….yet.  It is on my long, long list of  learning sessions I would like to incorporate into my life.  As a full time wife and mom, blogger, business co-owner and more, I just can’t find the time right now.  I do however have many thoughts about an Adinkra quilt.   With each Adinkra symbol offering us a specific meaning we are given a great opportunity to develop a beautiful expression of our inner beliefs thru an Adinkra quilt.

Adinkra Quilt

12 Block Adinkra Quilt

Quilt crafter and teacher Debby Kratovil  has a full size Adinkra quilt pattern CD available on her site Quilter by Design.  The pattern includes 12 symbols and instructions for the blocks.   She does not mention if she includes the meanings for each symbol but if you would like to  look them up   visit  http://www.adinkra.org.

******************************

Adinkra Quilt-056

The fabric designer Kweli Kitwana has a cute Adinkra design available at Spoonflower that can be used to create a quilt.  She offers several Adinkra designs that I think could be combined with this fabric also.    I am thinking about purchasing this fabric and adorning it with the  brass adinkra symbols  (see below)

***********************

Available @ Cultured Expressions

Brass Adinkra symbols

Lisa Shepard at Cultured Expressions  offers unique Brass Adinkra adornments for your quilt.  I think  the addition of these beautiful brass pieces will give crafters  a unique dimensional  plane to their quilt.   Cultured Expressions also has several other adornment options, beautiful fabric and many more quilt treasures on the site.   If you are planning to create an Adinkra quilt be sure to visit Lisa’s site!

3 Responses to “Adinkra Quilt”


  1. Hi! This is Lisa, just wanted to thank you for the site mention! I found it today while googling something else. Have you seen CE’s new Fabrigasm magazine? In the premiere issue (Spring 2012) I dnd a story on how a bride used Adinkra creatively throughout her wedding. Check it out now:
    http://culturedexpressions.com/flip/FabrigasmSP12/

    Enjoy!

    • Jaelma Says:

      Lisa!! Thanks so much for stopping by Adinkra Love! Your publication Fabrigasm is beautiful…..what a wonderful way to share this information…. as always I love your work. Your friends wedding was so beautiful and I love the way she used the Adinkra symbols! Thanks again for sharing – looking forward to learning more.
      wishing you all the best

      Jaelma

Share your thoughts -join the conversation

