P is for Potatoes…..Sweet Potatoes!!

April 19, 2012

Creativity is a huge part of our family life .  From the

Adinkra Symbol Ananse NTONTAN

Ananse represents creativity

tallest to the smallest, we are always working to add our own unique spin on EVERYTHING!!  It is not uncommon to hear someone walking through the house announcing “I have a great idea….you are gonna LOVE this!!”  It is just what we do and I am truly happy to be raising two creative children.

My creativity always extends into the kitchen too.   Finding new items to  cook  or new ways to prepare a food we love makes me quite happy.

I have never been a fan of American sweet potatoes ( I know that is hard to believe!) so when my friend offered me her Caribbean version several years ago I was hesitant to accept.  Being a true friend she encouraged me to try them ….”they are much better than the ones you are used to” she offered.  And to my surprise they were DELICIOUS!!   I fell in love with the Boniato.  This funny looking potato is sometimes called a Caribbean sweet potato , tropical sweet potato or Cuban sweet potato.  It  is so pleasant and sweet that I am always trying to find new ways to cook with them.

Cuban sweet potato

Boniato potatoes have a unique appearance

So here is an original recipe  developed for a potato contest I entered.   I am not really sure if it should be a dessert or side dish.  Let me know what you think please.    The Boniato can usually be found in  your local Hispanic or Caribbean grocery stores.

Sweet Potato Treasure Bites
3 medium  boniato  sweet potatoes, peeled 
1/3 c  sweetened condensed  milk 
2 tbsp butter 
2 Tbsp brown sugar
 1/8 tsp cinnamon
 Mini  marshmallows
 2/3 C cornflakes crumbs
 2 egg whites
 Canola oil 
Cover potatoes in water and boil   until tender.  Drain potatoes , 
return to pot  and cut into 2 inch chunks. Add milk and butter.  
 Mash until smooth.  Stir in brown sugar and cinnamon. Cover and
 place in refrigerator for 20-30 minutes to cool. Separate 2 eggs
 whites into a bowl. Place cornflake crumbs in shallow bowl.  
Set these two bowls aside.  Remove potato mixture from refrigerator.
 Using a round Tablespoon size measuring spoon scoop a full  portion
 of  potato mixture   Place  1 mini marshmallow into center of 
scooped potato . Roll  potato mixture around marshmallow forming 
a ball.  Roll balls in egg white then in cornflake crumbs . Place 
on platter ready to be fried.
  In large skillet  heat ½ inch canola oil.  Add sweet potato balls,   fry until golden brown approximately 30 seconds to each side.  Remove with slotted spoon. Drain on paper towels.  Serve warm.

Do you have any adventures with cooking potatoes or yams?  Tell me about them please!

Share your thoughts -join the conversation

